Posted by: geonarcissa | March 24, 2010

ErikaJean and Phoenix: Morning

I was only in Phoenix for the weekend, but I had all of Sunday free to spend with ErikaJean. She drove up from Tucson in the wee hours of the morning, picked me up at my hotel, and then we set off on our geocaching adventure. We got along very well right from the start and had a fantastic day with a total of 17 finds.

Our first stop was South Mountain Phoenix Park.

Phoenix: March 21, 2010

My first cache in Arizona.

Scorpion Gulch was neat. It was fun poking around these old buildings – remnants of a tourist trap from days gone by.

Phoenix: March 21, 2010

Scorpion Gulch

Phoenix: March 21, 2010

ErikaJean, grabbing the cache at Scorpion Gulch.

Phoenix: March 21, 2010

Scorpion Gulch

Then we headed up the mountain to grab the South Mountain Metamorphic Core Earthcache. I like to get Earthcaches when I visit different states and provinces. The view of Phoenix from up there was amazing (if you click on the picture you can get see a larger version).

Phoenix: March 21, 2010

South Mountain Metamorphic Core Earthcache

I was quite enamoured with all the cacti, like this one.

Phoenix: March 21, 2010

Cactus on South Mountain

I like this scene of a big saguaro cactus, Mexican poppies on the ground, and a woman on horseback. The sun was a little too bright for good pictures and I don’t have a schmancy camera like ErikaJean. :)

Phoenix: March 21, 2010

A view of South Mountain.

That concluded part one of our big geocaching day. It was really great to meet ErikaJean in person and I can’t thank her enough for driving me all over Phoenix and the surrounding area.

Responses

  1. I can’t thank you enough for going with me!!! …and dealing with my complaining @ the end haha.

    Our geocaching day was so much fun. … and it WAS bright in the morning. I’ve been slowly working on my pictures trying to make the look “right” ;-)

  2. I like the pictures you got anyway :)

  3. Sounds like GREAT fun, and I’m jealous that you got to see all those cool cacti!

    Annie


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

