Posted by: geonarcissa | December 13, 2010

Wow, threatened much?

Rather than just taking the high road and ignoring the new geocache listing site, some of the folks at Groundspeak have been acting in ways that hint at their vulnerabilities.

I’m not madly in love with the new site or the rating system, and I’m certainly not ready to abandon Geocaching.com, but I have serious concerns about handing any more money to a company whose CEO posts things like this to Facebook:

jeremy awesomeness

Why improve your own product when you can just make snarky public comments about someone else’s? Thumbs up, Groundspeak.

Responses

  1. Threatened? I think you’re maybe reading too much into his comment? It’s just a joke. I prefer this to the button down PR speak of most CEOs.

  2. I think it crosses a line and makes them look a bit desperate and juvenile. It’s totally unnecessary. This new site has a long way to go before it can pose any serious competition to Groundspeak.

  3. I agree with zagrobelny. I think you’re reading too much into it. It’s a little snarky but mainly it’s funny.

  4. I think you are looking for issues. This is just someone joking around. Jeremy has joked for years like this.

  5. I thought it was funny.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

