Posted by: geonarcissa | May 23, 2009

My 900th Geocache

Hit a milestone today when I found Hydraulic Creek Outlet (GC14JXD), just outside of Kelowna.

One of the things that’s so neat about Kelowna, and really anywhere in British Columbia, is how dramatically the landscape changes from urban to wilderness. My 900th cache is only 12km from Kelowna’s downtown, but it’s high up a mountain road. It’s a park-and-grab cache, as long as you’re willing to take your car up there.

I try to make my milestone caches meaningful, if not for the cache itself, then for the circumstances. I’ll always remember that I found my 900th cache with my Dad, in the mountains overlooking the Okanagan. I’ll be back in Ontario in a few days. I always hate to leave this place – not just the family I have here, but the mountains, the scent of freshly sawn wood that fills the downtown air, the crisp quality of the sunshine. When I arrived at the beginning of May, the cherry trees in the backyard were a show of white blossoms. Now they’re covered in shiny, green cherries and I regret that I won’t be here to eat them when they ripen.

Categories

