Posted by: geonarcissa | May 26, 2009

Myra Canyon Trestles

12 of 18 trestles were completely destroyed by fire in 2003.

12 of 18 trestles were completely destroyed by fire in 2003.

I don’t have time to write a long post about going up to Myra, but I wanted to post a few pictures before I go off to bed. Most of the original trestles burned in the Okanagan fire in 2003, and today was my first visit since they’ve been rebuilt.

I have visited the trestles a few times in past years. They were originally part of the Kettle Valley Railway (so were the Othello Tunnels). The canyon offers magnificent views of Kelowna, Okanagan Lake, and the surrounding mountains. The trestles themselves are a pretty spectacular feat of engineering. The canyon has been changed by the fire – charred remnants of trees that burned litter the slopes, many of the remaining trees are scorched, and traces of red flame retardant can be seen on the rocks and the trestles that survived.

Okanagan Lake and the City of Kelowna can be seen far below.

Okanagan Lake and the City of Kelowna can be seen far below.

I climbed this rock cut to get a cache.

I climbed this rock cut to get a cache.

That's my dad, my son, and my dog, way down below.

That's my dad, my son, and my dog, way down below.

Categories

