Posted by: geonarcissa | June 1, 2009

21 down, 23 to go!

I am nearing the halfway point in The Binthair Challenge. This morning, I headed back out to Blackburn Hamlet to finish off Sooner or Later – A Maze (GC593F) and FAR OUT! (GCC4B5).

I had done the groundwork for Sooner with Taoiseach back in late April and early May, before leaving for my trip to BC. I won’t spoil it for those of you who may try this one in the future, but it’s not kidding when it says it’s a maze. I think we spent two afternoons walking from waypoint to waypoint, trying to find our way to the final location. Unfortunately when we did finally get out of the maze and to the final hiding spot, all we found was the lid to the cache!

I went to the posted coordinates for FAR OUT! in March, and originally looked for the cache at the posted coordinates in late April when we were searching for Sooner, but it, too, was gone (this, I suspect, is not a coincidence – but that’s a rant for another day).

Both caches were repaired while I was out in BC. So, while I logged two Binthair finds today, those find logs actually represent work done across several cache outings. It’s nice to finally have them behind me.

A huge thanks to all those CCC geocachers who keep the Binthairs going!

Categories

