Posted by: geonarcissa | June 11, 2009

Caching in cemeteries raises hackles in Texas

Get a load of this:

“I don’t have a problem with people holding a scavenger hunt,” said Doris Lanfear, JCCA president. “But a cemetery is not the proper place for something like that. They should do that in a park, or out at the lake or something instead. If they have time to look for that stuff, maybe they should consider volunteering to help us out instead, or any other group. We’re all always needing volunteers.”

I don’t even know where to start. Go here to read the rest. Argh.

Responses

  1. Ohhhhhh that gets under my skin!!!! I’m ALWAYS cleaning up after families who were “paying respects” and left a mess! I have a geocache in a cemetery and I always look over the area where the cache is located to make sure trash isn’t left. And cachers are people too! We have family members buried in cemeteries. We know and understand the purpose and significance of the place and we would NEVER do anything to harm that. Nothing like a reporter getting the OTHER side of the story, no? I didn’t see any comment from a GEOCACHER. It says they contacted the Web site and got not response, but that isn’t sufficient IMO.

  2. I’ve picked up trash, tattered plastic flowers, and all kinds of things like that in cemeteries. Cemetery caches are one of my favourite types – I especially love visiting pioneer cemeteries because they make me feel a connection to the past.

    I don’t know where these hang-ups about stepping on graves come from. If a grave is demarcated with stones or something, I won’t step on it, but when there’s just grass, there’s no way to know where the grave begins and ends. Seems a little silly to project that neurosis on everyone else who visits the cemetery.

    If the land owner doesn’t want the geocaches there, they can contact gc.com, and the reviewers will take care of it. A volunteer who cleans up the cemetery and doesn’t like finding geocaches doesn’t have the authority to allow or ban geocaching.


Categories

