Posted by: geonarcissa | June 20, 2009

Useful tip re: geocoins and travel bugs

I have a modest, but growing collection of geocoins that I keep, but allow people to discover. I also enjoy moving trackable items from cache to cache, and I try to be diligent about keeping track of them and not letting them languish in my geo-bag for extended periods of time. Lately, when I try to drop trackables into caches, it’s quite confusing – on my iPod, the list is hard to see, and with so many in my inventory to go through, I have a hard time figuring out which one I’m supposed to drop. This has led to me using the “write note” function more than I’d like to, so I can drop bugs into caches. I don’t like cluttering up the logs with notes, because so many cachers now use paperless caching files that only show the last five logs.

To solve this problem, I’ve started to use one of my archived geocaches as virtual storage. That way, the only trackables showing in my inventory are the ones that I am actually supposed to move.

Responses

  1. Cool idea using one of your own archived geocaches to “store” geocoins! Thanks for sharing that tip 🙂

  2. It’s so much easier to keep track now. I love moving trackables, and I hate it when I’m inadvertently a geojerk about it. This doesn’t completely eliminate that possibility, but it helps.


Categories

