Posted by: geonarcissa | June 21, 2009

Geocaching iPhone/iPod App Info

Here’s a link to a blog entry about the app with screenshots for those who are curious about it.

I haven’t had much need to use in the field so far, but I’ll keep reporting on my experience for the next little while.

There’s no way to search for caches by keyword, which is a bit of a nuisance. They can be sorted by GC# or in alphabetical order, but that’s not always much help. Many geocaches around here are part of a series, or put out for special events, so they have things tagged on to the beginning of their names. Chalk one up for iGeocacher, which allows searching by keyword.

This app really is meant for the iPhone, which is fine, but there’s no way to turn off the functions that don’t apply to the iPod Touch. I wish there was a quick and easy way to tell the app “THIS IS AN IPOD TOUCH” so I would stop getting the annoying pop-ups every time I use it. Chalk another one up for iGeocacher.

Categories

