Posted by: geonarcissa | June 27, 2009

Garmin Dakota

This new GPS line looks interesting. Wireless connection for data transfer? Very nifty. And the price range seems much more affordable than the Colorado and Oregon devices.

Here’s another link with info about the Dakota as it compares to other Garmins.

My trusty Magellan eXplorist 500 is starting to show its age, so over the next few months I’m going to research what else is out there and decide on a replacement model. I’m not a die-hard Magellan user – the Magellan eXplorist series has just always been readaily available and in a price range that suited me at the time of purchase. I’ve been happy with the performance of both my 100 and 500 models.

I get the sense that Magellan has fallen a bit behind the curve with their newer lines, but I’m not sure.

The Garmin Map 60CX is still the most popular choice for geocachers around here.

Categories

