Posted by: geonarcissa | June 30, 2009

Geopicting in Nebraska

What, you’ve never heard of geopicting? It’s a new term for when you take a picture somewhere and record the GPS coordinates of the site. This idea has cropped up on places like Flickr and Google Earth, and now the state of Nebraska is holding a geopicting contest to encourage people to get off the main interstate highway and explore different parts of the state. Sounds like a fantastic idea.

The very first time I heard about handheld GPS receivers, I was in high school. This was before the satellite signals were unscrambled for public use (but after plans to do so were announced) and before the advent of geocaching, but there were GPS units available that gave rough coordinates. Still, the idea of having a little device that could tell me where I was on earth always sounded so cool, and now, almost 15 years later, I still think GPS is fascinating. I love hearing about new ways it’s being put to use.

Responses

  1. I usually use one one my camera….just gotten out of the habit over the past 2 months.

    Raven.
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/


Categories

