Posted by: geonarcissa | September 5, 2009

A bit of geocaching news.

Noticed this going by in the news:

September is Big Brothers Big Sisters month and, to celebrate and raise funds, the charity is teaming up with The Standard Life Assurance Company of Canada to dare the country’s corporate employees to be kids again by participating in a series of unique geocaching events planned for September 11 in Toronto and Montreal.”

Link to the event’s website here. If you’re in Montreal or Toronto, it might be worth checking out. (I guess they didn’t realize what a geocaching mecca Ottawa is.)

Here’s a story about a cemetery in Arkansas that is “considering” allowing geocaches on its property. I’ve submitted a comment to correct a couple of inaccuracies in the story (re: trade items, private property). I think I’m going to contact the cemetery with a link about that cemetery in Albany that’s working with geocachers to mark GPS locations for graves.

Responses

  1. “I think I’m going to contact the cemetery with a link about that cemetery in Albany that’s working with geocachers to mark GPS locations for graves.”

    Definitely a cool idea. I’m doing that EarthTrek (http://www.goearthtrek.com/) project. Haven’t gotten too much headway on it, but I did do one cemetery 🙂 It was fun.

  2. I signed up for EarthTrek too, but haven’t gotten started on anything yet. I’ll put that on my to-do list for next week.

    I’m still kind of decompressing from my trip.


Categories

