Posted by: geonarcissa | November 16, 2009

It’s hunting season!

Here’s a brief blog post about an encounter with a hunter while geocaching, including a picture.

If you’re caching in the country at this time of year, know where you’re going. Find out where hunting is allowed and when. Some parks and conservation areas are open to hunters in the Fall – be aware, and be considerate. If you’ll be in or near hunting areas, it’s a good idea to wear hunter orange, or postpone your caching expedition until hunting season is over.

Responses

  1. Hi there!
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and I thought i’d drop in to leave a comment. The variety of content you have related to geocaching is always interesting. It’s good to know what is going on out in the rest of the geocaching world.

    I have linked you on my blogroll at
    http://annienz.wordpress.com/

    Annie

  2. That would scare me away! Pj (http://hoohaablog.com/?p=649) had a recent post about hunting too! This reminded me of that.

  3. Yes… we didn’t really get the hunters… rather them getting their guns ready! Still crazy to hear all that blasting in the background!

  4. Taoiseach and I could hear gunfire while we were doing a cache in Algonquin Park recently. It wasn’t too close, but it was still a little scary and I was glad we didn’t have to be out of the car for very long.


Categories

