Posted by: geonarcissa | April 10, 2010

Last weekend…

Garmin finally realized that a software update won’t fix something that rattles, and they’ve directed me to their Canadian repair facility.

I went for a drive last Saturday, with my mom, Taoiseach, and my wee boy. We drove up the Pontiac, took the ferry across the Ottawa River at Quyon, and then back down the Ontario side to Ottawa, stopping at Pinhey’s Point along the way. We grabbed some caches in Aylmer, and at Pinhey’s Point.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Departing from Quyon

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Um, thanks for telling me AFTER we leave the dock! (It's okay, we had cash.)

We dropped in to Fitzroy Harbour to get some fudge from Penny’s Fudge Factory. She’s not actually open yet, but she was selling fudge Easter bunnies. She also gave us directions to a couple of local cemeteries – my mother’s uncle is buried in one of them, and we were able to find the grave.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

A sure sign of Spring - everyone has their antique vehicles out!

Pinhey’s Point is the site of an old settlement called Horaceville. It’s in ruins now, and the property belongs to the City of Ottawa. The main house is a museum, open to the public in the summer.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

One of us always has to look creepy or horrible in the picture.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Found it!

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Creepy bone in the woods.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Rusty old farm equipment.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Little flowers at the base of a ruin at Pinhey's Point.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

The inside of a ruin at Pinhey's Point.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

I noticed that the window has an amazing view of the Ottawa River!

The old church is on private property adjacent to the rest of the site, so it’s not accessible to the public. Usually, when I visit Pinhey’s Point, I can only catch a glimpse of the church because it’s obscured by trees. I was quite pleased that I could see it quite clearly on this day.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Lovely windows!

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

I wish I had an old ruin in MY yard.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

A detail.

This has nothing to do with geocaching, but I was very pleased at how perfect my pound cake turned out.

apr 3 quyon and fitzroy

Gratuitous pound cake picture.

This weekend, I have the flu, my GPS is broken, and Taoiseach has to work, so no geocaching for me.

Responses

  1. Bummer about being sick. Hope you are better in time fore geocaching next weekend!

    Really liked the pictures and your pound cake looks yummy!

  2. Beautiful looking ruin – wonderful photo looking through the window – and that cake looks yum!


Categories

