Posted by: geonarcissa | May 18, 2010

Ottawa to Aurora, ON and back.

Taoiseach and I had a rare chance to get out of town for a couple of days, for a BBQ at a friend’s place in Aurora, ON. We went from Ottawa to Peterborough on Saturday, then Peterborough to Aurora and back to Peterborough on Sunday, and then came back to Ottawa on Monday (yesterday). With so much distance to cover, we didn’t want to make too many stops, but we picked a few caches that looked interesting along the way.

We had a couple of DNFs along the way, but that didn’t detract from the trip – we were too busy enjoying the blue skies, the open road, the glimpses of wildlife, and the company of friends. Here are some glimpses of our geocaching adventures this weekend.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Found it!

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Ontario's flower - the white trillium.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Nice camo! Just kidding, you fail.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

The O'Hara Mill.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Falls from the mill.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Wee cacher plays on an old mill stone.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

An otter - shame I didn't have the telephoto lens.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Taoiseach checks the time while he's logging. He always does that. 🙂

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

An old gravestone, set in concrete. Marble doesn't stand up to the elements here - particularly acid rain.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Playing with shadows.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Detail from another old gravestone.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

The picture isn't backwards, it's taken from behind the gate. I liked the way the gate framed the field and sky.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

A survey marker.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

A pier on Lake Scugog.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Another gravestone detail, this time in Utica, ON.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

And another.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

The shape of this one is a bit unusual.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

The woman holding an anchor represents hope.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

The old Marmora mine.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Wee cacher loves the big tires.

may 15-17, ottawa to aurora

Poison ivy.

Responses

  1. Way to end that beautiful post with a horrible thing like poison ivy 😛

    LOVE the stones. I have a graveyard post going up tomorrow – you must have very similar weather to Ohio – I think our gravestones grow the same moss!

    Question- do you keep a separate caching name for the caches your son finds with you? just wondering.

    • I don’t log any finds separately for him. When he’s old enough to use a computer and log his own finds, he can. I have enough logging to keep up with as it is!

      I think out around Peterborough and Toronto the climate and the landscape are very similar to parts of Ohio. I know Ohio has a lot of the same glacial landforms we do, like drumlins and eskers.

  2. oh your little boy is adorable 🙂

    We cache as a “team” (just one logging account), and I overheard my son (aged 7) talking to his friend the other day about how he intends to take over our caching group name in his own right when he is 16 (I think I told him at some point that was the age you had to be, as I didn’t want all the hassle of logging his finds separately)

    I asked – what about me? (I’ll be the grand old age of 50 by then) – he said “oh you won’t be geocaching any more”, I asked why and he replied “you’ll probably be dead, or too old to walk”

    Cheers, son 🙂

    Thanks for the poison ivy pic, now I know what to avoid next time I cache in North America – we don’t get that over here in the UK


Categories

