Posted by: geonarcissa | June 15, 2010

Spring Fling Road Trip – Day 1

I took about 500 pictures over the weekend, so there’s a lot to sift through.

On Thursday (June 10), we left Ottawa at about 11am, and drove to Peterborough. Since we drive to Peterborough frequently, we’ve picked off a lot of the caches on the most direct route. This time, we took a scenic detour to Ivanhoe and Stirling to grab some caches.

The sky looked somewhat threatening for most of the day, but we managed to avoid being rained on.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

First cache of the day was a new cache at an old spot where we had a DNF last year. There’s a big gravestone for some pioneer settlers here.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Later into the trip, we did some geocaches in a series placed along bridges in Hastings County. I don’t know why crumbly old rural bridges are so compelling, but I really dig geocaches that bring me to them.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

This sign amused me.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Fearless Freddy gets to drive across the old train bridge.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

I love beaver dams and old telephone poles – and the route from Ottawa to Peterborough has lots of ’em.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

After the bridge caches, we went to Ivanhoe, ON to visit the cheese factory and grab another geocache. Can you spot the geocache in this picture?

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

How about now?

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Of course, with Taoiseach and I getting to play our game all day, it was only fair that we let the little guy have some play time of his own.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

Our last geocache was in Stirling, ON, where we found a cache hidden near this pretty covered bridge. I also managed to carry on the great tradition of getting entirely confused and leaving Stirling on the wrong road. But we made it to Peterborough in time to have warm food and a good night’s sleep before heading to Barrie the next day.

Spring Fling Trip - Day 1

It’s funny how pictures of geocaching trips often end up having unintentional themes. I think the theme of this day is that moody, cloudy sky that threatened us all day long. Gave me a good chance to play with my light polarizing filter. šŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Love the sky! Cool beaver dam, I’ve never seen one in person.

  2. Fabulous photos – you can’t beat a menacing sky to make everything look more interesting somehow, and it gives perfect light too.

    I especially like the tall gravestone in the trees

    oh and I spotted the cache in the first photo, what do I win? šŸ˜€

  3. Love your blog. Thanks for sharing all the great pics! What an adventure!

    • Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. šŸ™‚


Categories

