Posted by: geonarcissa | June 17, 2010

Spring Fling Road Trip – Day 2

Leaving the wee cacher behind in Peterborough, Taoiseach and I embarked on the next leg of our journey. We took a scenic route to Barrie, going through several towns along the Trent Severn Waterway – Bobcaygeon, Fenelon Falls, Kirkfield, and Severn Bridge.

As you’ll see in the pictures, it was a beautiful day.

We found three geocaches in Bobcaygeon. Two of them were mere steps from this lock.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

I liked this cache in particular because of the care taken with the container and the hide. It’s a fairly busy area in the summer – the lock is right downtown. Many cache owners would have hidden a micro here.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Just want to show the class an example of a really good cache container. The coordinates on the key tag are a nice touch.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

I like personalized swag. Didn’t trade for this, but I enjoyed the simplicity of it before putting it back. I saw one or two more in other caches we did that day.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

This totally creepy caterpillar was on the side of a curling club in Bobcaygeon.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

This cache in Fenelon Falls had a very high terrain and difficulty rating. We were expecting a death-defying climb down the sheer limestone rock face, but then noticed the cache almost at our feet right at the top. Probably for the best.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Here’s a picture of the dam at Fenelon Falls.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

This cache took us about twenty minutes to find. It was on the middle of a causeway with plenty of compelling possible hiding spots.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

It’s a neat causeway – it curves!

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Taoiseach’s been teasing me a bit lately because I have been so involved with my new camera that I am often kind of useless when it comes to searching for geocaches. I think I redeemed myself a bit when I actually found this one.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

While searching for the cache, I had spotted this loon sitting on her nest. Before heading off to the next cache, I popped the telephoto lens on my camera and snapped some shots of her. A Canada Post carrier pulled over to chat with me about the loon. She said the nest was actually an old muskrat lodge. Neat!

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

A detail from one of the loon pictures. It’s not as sharp as I’d like, but it’s still pretty neat – the loon was at least 100m away. It would be pretty neat to go back and see her with her babies later in the summer.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

While I had the telephoto lens on, I snapped a picture of this osprey nest mostly just to play with the camera. When I got home I realized there was an osprey in there!

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

The next stop on our trip was the Kirkfield Lift Lock. I grew up in Peterborough, which is home to the world’s highest lift lock, but I’d never seen this one further down the waterway. This marvel of engineering uses hydraulics to raise and lower boats.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Our last stop along the Trent Severn was a lock near Severn Bridge. This lock was neat because it was very deep. There was a nice multi-cache here that Taoiseach chose to do as his 1700th cache. While doing the different stages of the multi, we also watched some boats go through the lock. I was amused by this “graffiti” on the inside wall of the lock – it’s actually scraped into the black slime that grows there. Bleh!

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Here’s a boat going into the lock. I told you it’s a deep one!

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Our next cache was up on top of a rock cut along Highway 11. Here’s a picture of us at the top.

Highway 11

I took this picture from the road. The lonely white pine on top of the gneiss and granite rock was just so essentially Canadian Shield, Group of Seven-esque that I couldn’t resist.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Then I popped the picture into GIMP and tried to make it look like a Group of Seven painting.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

After that cache, we drove the rest of the way to Barrie so we could set up camp before it got dark. We arrived around the same time as several other Ottawa geocachers. As darkness fell, we all went out to find a couple of geocaches. As you can see, Taoiseach was already full-swing into “party” mode.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

With sunset came the end of a fantastic day of geocaching.

Spring Fling Road Trip - Day 2

Responses

  1. Heya, I am new to geocaching and just want to thank you for your posts. I really love reading them and they are adding fuel to the fire that is quickly becoming my new obsession. Your road trip posts are making me want to jump in the car and head somewhere new and interesting. Thanks again.

    • Thank you for the kind words!

  2. Great pictures. Great locations. The terrain, structures, roads and even the green colors of the vegetation are all slightly but unmistakably different from their counterparts here in Southern California. I hope to find myself in the area someday to cache.

    • It’s neat how those subtle differences add up to make different places so distinct. My dad lives out in British Columbia and I can always spot things that are filmed in his region because the landscape is so distinct.


Categories

