Posted by: geonarcissa | July 17, 2010

Maritime Road Trip – Day 1

I’m back! It was a busy ten-day trip, and I sure appreciated sleeping in my own bed last night. I have lots of caches to log and pictures to sort through. I just got through the pictures from the first day of the trip.

We crossed into Quebec at Hawkesbury. Goodbye to Ontario for ten days!

DSC03236.jpg

Our first stop of the day was at Trois-Rivieres, where we visited a virtual geocache at the grave of Maurice Duplessis.

DSC03245.jpg

The cemetery was gorgeous, and full of beautiful marble statues. There are more pictures over on Flickr.

DSC03255.jpg

DSC03256.jpg

DSC03268.jpg

After looking around Trois-Rivieres, we drove on to Quebec City. Before setting up camp for the night, we visited Old Quebec City.

DSC03296.jpg

This canonball in the tree is a virtual geocache. The canonball has supposedly been there since the Battle of the Plains of Abraham in 1759, and over the years the tree has grown around it.

DSC03303.jpg

Here’s me standing in front of Quebec’s National Assembly building.

DSC03326.jpg

We spent a few minutes around this fountain in front of the National Assembly.

DSC03332.jpg

DSC03333.jpg

Old Quebec is very beautiful and colourful. It was hard to choose which pictures to put up. I’ll probably put some more up on Flickr once I’ve gone through the pictures for the entire trip. Here’s a street scene I really liked.

DSC03345.jpg

Wee cacher hammed it up in front of a canon.

DSC03350.jpg

We thought this sign was lam-e.

DSC03360.jpg

With the sun setting on Quebec City, we went to the nearby KOA campground to set up and get some sleep before we moved on to New Brunswick.

Responses

  1. The cannon ball is so cool!


Categories

