Posted by: geonarcissa | September 15, 2010

Frank Slide, Alberta

In 1903, a small Alberta town called Frank was hit by a massive landslide. At least 70 people lost their lives when Turtle Mountain collapsed in the early morning of April 29, 1903.

More than 100 years later, the Frank Slide is still one of the most notorious and fascinating disasters in Canadian history.

The Frank Slide is featured in an Earthcache. I hope my pictures give you a sense of the scale.

Frank Slide Highway

Taoiseach at Frank Slide

Narcissa at Frank Slide

Frank Slide

Frank Slide rubble

Responses

  1. sad the people died, but it kind of looks like a neat place!

  2. I bought a book on Albertan history when we visited Calgary (there was a cache in the visitor centre, since archived I think, and I kind of felt obliged to buy something while we were there as the girl on the till had been so nice to my son and helped him sign the log book – so I grabbed the history book 🙂 )

    I read it on the plane home and there was a section in there about the Frank Slide, it was heartbreaking. I would love to visit one day and pay my respects.

  3. […] Frank Slide, Alberta (via geonarcissa) September 22, 2010 by cumbyrocks Amazing place for a geocache! In 1903, a small Alberta town called Frank was hit by a massive landslide. At least 70 people lost their lives when Turtle Mountain collapsed in the early morning of April 29, 1903. More than 100 years later, the Frank Slide is still one of the most notorious and fascinating disasters in Canadian history. The Frank Slide is featured in an Earthcache. I hope my pictures give you a sense of the scale. … Read More […]

  4. The Frank slide is an a stark reminder of the awesome power of Mother Nature. We can dig, scrape, gouge or otherwise alter the landscape and it can all be wiped away in an instant. We are just visiting and should be better guests.


Categories

